Celebrate Close Friends


Celebrate Close Friends


Featuring Holly Dalager, Oboe

February 24th, 2019 / St. Olaf Lutheran Church

A Requiem, at its core, is a prayer for rest—traditionally performed in memory of the deceased. The five movements of Dan Forrest's Requiem for the Living, (2013), however, form a narrative just as much for the living, and their own struggle with pain and sorrow, as for the dead. The Austin Symphony Orchestra will join forces with its own chorus for this contemporary reflection on the Requiem text. In reflection and triumph, Finnish composer Jean Sibelius manifests the changing of the season with his powerfully melodic “In Springtime”. And the ASO is proud to feature its Principal Oboist, Holly Dalager, in a rarely heard and delightful work by German composer Ludwig Lebrun.



  • Dan Forrest: Requiem for the Living

  • Lebrun: Oboe Concerto No. 1

  • Sibelius: In Springtime 

Add To Cart